Council members having lunch before a Meeting

The Society for the History of Astronomy is governed and managed by a Council comprising  annually elected, occasionally co-opted, and appointed officers, who are listed below.

Council members with email addresses have their names highlighted as a clickable email link.

For general enquiries about the SHA please email the General Secretary.

SHA Council & Officers

Honorary Council Members

Hon President Dr Allan Chapman, Wadham College, Oxford

       Hon Vice-President Dr Emily Winterburn

Hon Vice-President  Professor Mike Edmunds

Elected Officers

Chairman  Gerard Gilligan

       Vice-Chairman David Sellers

General Secretary Mike Leggett

Treasurer  Dr Geoff A. King

Membership Secretary  Graham Jones

Council Members

SHA Survey Co-ordinator Kevin Johnson

Librarian  James Dawson

Publicity Secretary  Dr Geoff A. King

Editor SHA Bulletin Kevin Walsh

Editor, SHA e-News  David Sellers

Online Editor John W. Chuter

Co-opted Officers

Archivist  John W. Chuter

Editor, The Antiquarian Astronomer Ian Ridpath

Assistant Librarian Carolyn Bedwell

Meetings Secretary           Acting   Gerard Gilligan

Downloadable expense forms      Expenses form policy (Word)      Expenses form (Excel)

Dropbox SHA Documents